the flag lady

IMG_3251

Every Sunday morning she is out there running around and waving her flags with the biggest smile on her face. No matter how hot or cold or early it is. She’s still smiling. I’m talking about one of the crossing guards at my church. She is such a raw example of having true joy in Jesus that I have ever seen. Anyone can volunteer at church, but someone with true joy does it with a smile on their face. And she’s not even just smiling, she is running around and shouting “hello”s and “how are you”s. She is shining her light for Jesus. Everyone loves her and it is so obvious her love for Jesus even though she is just directing traffic, she doesn’t even have to say his name. She is a terrific example that actions speak louder than words. Not only do I wish to live with the same joy she does but I also hope one day I can be a light in the same way she is, shining for Jesus in every aspect of my life. I strive for that joy and hope one day I can humble myself enough to truly let Him shine through me in every moment.

Lord humble me so I can truly be a light for Jesus, for you deserve all the glory. I strive to be a light for you, to be joyful in all circumstances, and to look towards you and give thanks always. I want to live with true joy and love in my heart. As my life soon completely changes I hope to be like the flag lady at church. Showing kindness and love to everyone around me, no matter the circumstances,

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 “Be joyful always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

This is one of the many verses I keep coming back to as I (try) to prepare myself for what is to come starting just tomorrow. I pray that I will be joyful always. Pray continually. And Give thanks in all circumstances. Even when I’m tired or stressed or just don’t feel well I will come back to this verse and does as is says.  This is just the beginning of a new adventure and I want to bring all of the glory to Him.

Thank you so much for reading! Going into college and need a friend to talk to? Or maybe you just wanna chat? Email me donutsanddaydreams@aol.com

My next post will be from college y’all!!!!!! WHAT!!!!

Leave a Reply

