but I don’t have TIME

IMG_2603.JPG

“I don’t have time”

I here this a lot and I say it even more. This seems to be my favorite excuse for everything. Worse thing is I use it a lot when it comes to my relationship with God.

Lets start off talking about why this bothers me so bad. Every time someone told me “I don’t have time” I always thought, “no you don’t MAKE time”. There is always time, you just have to find it and prioritize what you are spending your time on. If you want something bad enough or your want to have a relationship with someone you WILL make time. I hated when I would make time for someone and they never wanted to make time for me. You can’t have a relationship with someone without spending time with them.

But then I started thinking…why am I using this excuse when it comes to my relationship with God? I don’t have time to read my bible. I don’t have time to sit and be still. I don’t have time to talk to him when everything is going well. I only run to him in times of need. But isn’t this just like saying I don’t have time to spend with other people? Why is it okay when I say this about my relationship with God and not with others? He is SO much bigger than anything in my life so if anything I should be giving him all the time in the world. He is our heavenly father and nothing is more important than spending time with him.

God didn’t create time, he made day and night to separate the days. It is an earthly invention that humans use to schedule their busy lives. I’m not saying that being busy is a bad thing (I am a very busy person, I like being busy) but you have to prioritize your time and MAKE time for him. The first step to having a relationship with him and glorifying God is by making time for him and making him the center of your life.

Take a few minutes out of your day. Maybe even just starting with 15 minutes and sit down with your bible and read or sit still with him. Or listen to worship songs in the car or while your working out. Pray when you’re waiting in line at the grocery store or at a red light. Whatever it takes to feel his presence and get to know your wonderful creator and heavenly father. The more time you spend with him the strong your faith will grow.

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10

Thank you for reading!  I hope you enjoyed it! See you Monday (:

Leave a Reply

